What is the aim of Patterning for creating acoustic drum/rock beats?

Hi, I’ve now explored Pattering 2 a fair bit and am very, very impressed. My first exposure to it was with the default kit and my instinct was this would be fantastic for creating electronic beats.

But I am a guitarist and am seeking acoustic-drum sounds to do so heavier rock/metal sounds so this is my thinking at the moment:

Patterning 2 is a fantastic tool for making a rock demo. It’s easy to quickly create interesting and sometimes unexpected beats, create off-time patterns, and to quickly put together a song arrangement. And then you can export it to WAV. Brilliant for me and my non-that-computer-literate sound engineer friend.

It’s so good it makes me want to consider using it beyond a demo level: for the finished recorded product. But…

8 drum instruments/loops will never suffice for a finished rock-drum product. Even if you’re doing AC/DC (one of my fave bands) it’s still not enough. Though Rudd may only hit a handful of drum instruments, he’s not limited to 8 sounds. And velocity is not enough; and as great as randomizing pitch is, that’s not enough either.

I was looking at Superior Drums 3 (yes, it’s about 20 x time the price) but was blown away to see that each kit could offer up around 20 differing Hi-hat voicings or sounds. And this is integral to realism: a variety of sounds other than a binary open/closed. Without it, listeners will unconsciously pick up that drum parts sound that same all the time.

So I think for P2 to be elevate for me (and others) beyond a sketchpad or quick demo tool, it would need…

More loops to accommodate drum kits with far beyond 8 instruments or sounds.